71 days ago
SEC Network

Photo: Peter Aiken/Getty Images

The College World Series began in 1947 to determine baseball’s national champion each year, and the Southeastern Conference has enjoyed its share of success.

The CWS was to begin June 12 this year, with the champion to be crowned either June 23 or June 24. It was canceled because of the coronavirus pandemic, leaving everyone to wonder what might have been in a season that had a remarkable 10 SEC teams ranked in the USA Today Top 25 Coaches Poll when it was suddenly cut short.

Four of the top seven teams in the final USA Today Coaches Poll rankings of the abbrieviated season were from the SEC, led by 16-1 Florida, which was ranked No. 1 in the nation. The other schools in the top seven at the time included No. 2 Georgia (14-4), No. 5 Ole Miss (16-1) and defending national champion Vanderbilt (13-5) at No. 7.

Also ranked in the Top 25 in the final poll from the SEC were No. 14 Arkansas (11-5), No. 15 Auburn (13-5), No. 19 LSU (12-5), No. 20 Tennessee (15-2), No. 21 Alabama (16-1) and No. 23 Texas A&M (15-3).

While no one knows what might have happened in the CWS at Omaha, Nebraska this June, every SEC coach appreciates making that trip. When Vanderbilt won the College World Series in June of 2019, it capped a decade of dominance for Southeastern Conference baseball programs. The SEC won five national championships from 2010-19 to go along with six national runner-up finishes and 26 overall College World Series appearances by nine different schools during that span.

Six different SEC programs have played for a national championship since 2010, and the CWS finals included at least one SEC team in nine of the last 10 years. So while the COVID-19 pandemic robbed us of seeing what might have been in 2020, this is the perfect time to look back on the list of Southeastern Conference teams that have claimed national titles over the years.

Click on the logos of the schools who have accomplished this feat below to learn more.

Categories: Sports