15 hours ago
SEC Staff

Photo: South Carolina Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (June 25, 2020)—–Thirteen Southeastern Conference track and field student-athletes garnered Academic All-America honors by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), it was announced Thursday.

Among the 13 SEC honorees, five earned Academic All-America first team honors, five earned second team honors and three were named to the third team. Named to the first team were Tyler Brendel (Arkansas), Lisa Gunnarsson (LSU), Vincent Kiprop (Alabama), Daija Lampkin (Alabama) and Taylor Werner (Arkansas).

Second team selections were Jon Bishop (Texas A&M), Devin Clark (Arkansas), Jessica Drop (Georgia), Katie Izzo (Arkansas) and Samantha Zelden (Alabama).

Arinze Chance (South Carolina), Johannes Erm (Georgia) and Jack Rogers (Auburn) were voted to the third team.

2019-20 Academic All-America® Track & Field/Cross Country Teams – NCAA Division I

First Team

Tyler Brendel, Arkansas

Lisa Gunnarsson, LSU

Vincent Kiprop, Alabama

Daija Lampkin, Alabama

Taylor Werner, Arkansas

Second Team

Jon Bishop, Texas A&M

Devin Clark, Arkansas

Jessica Drop, Georgia

Katie Izzo, Arkansas

Samantha Zelden, Alabama

Third Team

Arinze Chance, South Carolina

Johannes Erm, Georgia

Jack Rogers, Auburn

Categories: Sports